It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:19 am Advanced search

crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Code won't compile? Found a bug? Post here!

crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Postby FrankyRP » Thu Nov 25, 2010 11:49 pm

When I get a "crashed / did not start / timeout" error (eg http://ai-contest.com/visualizer.php?game_id=8647057), how do I know whether my bot crashed, did not start or timeout?
FrankyRP
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:17 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Postby dimkadimon » Thu Nov 25, 2010 11:56 pm

You don't know...
dimkadimon
Major-General
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:34 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Postby FrankyRP » Fri Nov 26, 2010 12:02 am

Seriously?
FrankyRP
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:17 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Postby Roamboater » Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:13 am

The game reaches turn 3, so I think you can rule out "did not start". :)
Roamboater
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Postby dimkadimon » Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:52 am

Check that you are not issuing any invalid orders, like when

* Sending more ships than the source planet
* Sending negative number of ships
* Source planet is not your planet
* Source planet is the same as the destination planet
dimkadimon
Major-General
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:34 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Postby FrankyRP » Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:15 pm

Thanks for the checklist dimkadimon :-)
But when I'm issuing an invalid order, shouldn't I get always "X issued an invalid order... " (eg http://ai-contest.com/visualizer.php?game_id=8682176) instead of "crashed / did not start / timeout"?

As Roamboater said, we can easily rule out "did not start" if turn 1 was OK, but I don't how to tell apart "crashed" from "timeout" (without adding timing code in my bot of course)...
Last edited by FrankyRP on Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
FrankyRP
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:17 am
Location: Paris, France

Re: crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Postby iouri_ » Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:23 pm

You can try using the game state extractor bookmarklet to see whether it crashes (viewtopic.php?f=18&t=790&p=7069). If your bot's behaviour is dependent on previous turns, you may have to feed the bot the game states from the start and up to that turn.
iouri_
Brigadier-General
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:16 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: crashed / did not start / timeout --> which one?

Postby FrankyRP » Fri Nov 26, 2010 2:43 pm

Awesome JS!!
thanks iouri_!
FrankyRP
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:17 am
Location: Paris, France


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron