It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:27 pm Advanced search

Hello everyone + questions

New members are welcomed here to introduce themselves, meet your opponents here.
This is a place for website/account issues too.

Hello everyone + questions

Postby angeladik » Mon Jan 02, 2012 7:28 pm

My name is Adrian and I'm a student of Automation and Robotics - 3rd year. In next semester I will start my lessons with AI so I look for additional knowledge/experience in advance. Unfortunatelly, I had no time to try with Ants, hope I will manage to take part in next competition. My experience with programming isn't high - just basics with C, C++, Delphi and Pascal. I've checked many posts and my pont of view is that most of you use C, Java and Python. Could you compare those languages focusing on:

* possibilities
* memory consumption
* working speed
* difficulty of use
* other important things for AI/contests

I would like to know if they are similar or one of them (or maybe different one, not mentioned so far) is better. I like challenges so learning new language or refreshing the knowledge will not be a problem (I hope so).

I am interested in AI because of it's great possibilities. Right now I'm thinking about making a bot for RTS game which could learn over time (neural networks) and finally would be able to play against player. He could help the player to become a better one by making tips and pointing mistakes after (or during) game. Is it possible to connect a bot to such a game? Is it legal (EULA)? I want to make a bot for offline game (like old but good Cleopatra) to check my skills and test what such bot needs to have in its code. In addition, is it possible to find out what data player recieve (so I can have input data for my bot)?

Hope I can find out more about programming and AI on this forum thanks to all of you.
Any request is welcome, PM or post.
angeladik
Major

Re: Hello everyone + questions

Postby MagnumPU » Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:41 pm