It is currently Sat Apr 21, 2018 1:30 pm Advanced search

Bot doesn't participate in fights

Code won't compile? Found a bug? Post here!

Bot doesn't participate in fights

Postby smf68 » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:28 pm

Although I committed a bot several hours ago, it doesn't participate in any fights. It does appear in the rankings, with zero stats though.

How to let it participate in automated battles like others apparently do? Did I miss something?
smf68
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:24 pm

Re: Bot doesn't participate in fights

Postby dcolish » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:47 pm

I'm seeing the same thing along with a few of my friends. Seems like there might be a larger lag when submitting new code.
dcolish
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:17 pm

Re: Bot doesn't participate in fights

Postby amstan » Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:20 am

Make sure your program:
1. Doesn't output anything besides your move
2. Works with the tournament java jar and the other tournament engines found in the misc section of this forum.
3. Doesn't take more than 1 second per turn
4. Doesn't try to do any illegal stuff(open network sockets or write to files)

Besides that, the only reason is that the tournament engine is not working, however I was informed that it is.
Alexandru M. Stan
Contest Organizer
User avatar
amstan
Contest Organizer
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:02 am
Location: Stoney Creek, Ontario

Re: Bot doesn't participate in fights

Postby smf68 » Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:40 am

Just found a bug that caused my Bot not to make a move in very special occasions. I fixed it, uploaded it again and now it seems to work. Thanks for the help!
smf68
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:24 pm

Re: Bot doesn't participate in fights

Postby dcolish » Fri Feb 05, 2010 12:43 am

No, the engine looks fine. It was an error in my code. The upload checker didn't catch this, and neither did I. :(
dcolish
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:17 pm

Re: Bot doesn't participate in fights

Postby dcolish » Fri Feb 05, 2010 1:39 am

Ok I'm a little confused now. I've run against the example bots locally without errors for all the given maps, but my code is still not competing. Can we get any output about the submissions if they're not fighting?
dcolish
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:17 pm


Return to Technical Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron